11/25/2017 10:40:39 PM

Wesley win fifth consecutive Touch Rugby Sevens title

Wesley win fifth consecutive Touch Rugby Sevens title

Doha: Wesley won a record fifth consecutive Lions Sri Lanka Schools Touch Sevens title, beating St Sylvesters 3-1 in the final at the Doha Rugby Football Centre (DRFC).

Wesley was helped by two tries from Lahiru Prasad one in each half. Team-mate Sajith Ariyawansha scored their team’s second try while Sashi Kanth crossed over for the St Sylvesters’ only touchdown.

"With half our players out to other commitments our training was mainly focused on winning our group division” said captain Shivan Pathirage. “I am very thankful for the boys who gave a solid performance all day. Everybody did their job.”

"We had hoped to win the event, but we made silly mistakes in the final. But the chance to play the final at DRFC with a huge crowd was something to remember. We are still absorbing the atmosphere," said St. Sylvesters’ Kanth.

Results: Cup: Wesley 3 bt St. Sylvesters 1; Plate: Isispathana 1 bt Trinity 0; Bowls: St. Peters 2 bt Royal 1;
Sheild: Dharmaraja 1 (extra time) bt Mahanama 0; Invitational: Sherbourne 3 bt Warriors 0

Share this: