12/14/2016 6:59:16 AM

New model to determine the IAAF Diamond Race winner

New model to determine the IAAF Diamond Race winner

QATAR will remain the first event of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Diamond League for the eight consecutive year after the new calendar was released last week.

The 2017 Doha Diamond League will be held at the Qatar Sports Club Stadium on May 5. The men’s events will feature 100, 400, 1,500, 5,000M, high jump, triple jump and javelin throw while the women’s category will have 200, 8,000, 3,000 steeplechase, 100M hurdles, pole vault and shot put.

In a major restructuring, the IAAF Diamond League has adopted a new championship model, with the finalists competing for a prize money of $3.2m.

Starting from 2017, athletes will earn points in the first 12 meetings to qualify for two final events where $100,000 will be at stake in each of the 32 Diamond disciplines. Each winner will receive $50,000. 

In previous seasons, athletes accumulated points throughout the Diamond League season, with the overall winner of each of the 32 events being the athlete with most points irrespective of whether they won the final.

From next season onwards, the performance of shortlisted athletes in the last two meetings alone will determine the champion.

The Diamond League finals will now offer a dramatic showdown between the world’s best athletes, a true climax to a four-month race across four continents.

“After seven seasons which have established the IAAF Diamond League as our premier circuit, it’s important to assess its impact and build for the future. These decisions are the first step towards making the series more attractive,” said IAAF President and Diamond League Chairman Sebastian Coe. 

Share this: