11/16/2019 7:14:46 PM

Doha Cycling's Bilal Al Saadi wins Men's A title

Doha Cycling

DOHA: Bilal Al Saadi of Doha Cycling won the Men A title (92km) in the Royal Air Maroc League Race 3 here last Friday.

It was a convincing win for Al Saadi, who has grown in strength this year as he matures as a rider.

The national team rider clocked 2:22:00 followed by Szymon Wasiak (National Team Coaches, 2:22:00) and Guillaume Souter (Team Al Jassra, 2:22:02).

In the women’s Grade A category (78km), Sophie Clarke (Rasen Adventure Shop) bagged the top honour (1:59:10) while Lisa Dunne (Team Al Jassra) finished second (1:59:15).

Attacks and counter attacks characterised the B race with one of the Los Gauchos or Rasen Adventure Shop riders seemingly up the road for much of the time.

Nothing truly stuck though and, as in A grade, Rasen are not yet finding a way to capitalize on their strength in numbers.

Mudar Al Khatib (Doha Cycling) stood out as one of those setting the race alight.

Often observed plotting with team mates, he made the moves as well as neutralizing those of others.

Cycling doesn’t always reward those doing the work but in this case Mudar also crossed the line first, going one better than his last outing and ahead of Travis Pyle and Arturo Mabag (Bike to Work Qatar).

Less than 2 seconds behind, came Sophie Clarke (Rasen Adventure Shop) to emphatically keep the league leader’s Scarlet Jersey off the shoulders of Lisa Dunne (Team Al Jassra).

A large field of 66 started the C race and forty-three of them contested the sprint finish. The winners all Filipino -- Jamison Carino (Bike to Work Qatar), Ernesto Gabriel (SMCC Apo Lakay), Christian Hidalgo (Team BRO).

South African Sondra Hope won the Women B Grade (55km) by clocking 1:30:39. She was followed by Daniela Sposi (TriClub Doha, (1:30:51) and Doaa Awad (TriClub Doha, 1:42:44).

Share this: